Dominic Fike - Masthead Banner

Introducing: EL VY [i.e. The National’s Matt Berninger + Brent Knopf].

Introducing: EL VY [i.e. The National’s Matt Berninger + Brent Knopf].

The National’s Matt Berninger has united with Brent Knopf (the Portland musician and producer best known for his work in Menomena and his more recent band, Ramona Falls), in a new collaboration called EL VY!

The duo will release their debut album, 'Return To The Moon', on October 30th, and if it’s anything like the first song they’ve just dropped, then this is all going to be really rather spectacular.

"Their debut album, Return To The Moon, is a project Berninger and Knopf have been thinking about for years. Their friendship spans nearly a decade, starting back when The National and Menomena played small half-empty clubs along America’s west coast. Feeling an immediate musical kinship, the pair kept in touch, Brent sending Matt occasional rough sketches of music and Matt responding with ideas and lyrics. Finally, in the winter and spring of 2014-115, they got together to make an album.

Return to the Moon sounds exactly like you'd hope a collaboration between these artists would: Berninger's darkly funny, lyrical storytelling and his immediately identifiable sense of melody offset by Knopf's playful, architectural arrangements and inventive production."

Album Track-List:
1. Return To The Moon (Political Song for Didi Bloome to Sing, with Crescendo)
2. I’m The Man To Be
3. Paul Is Alive
4. Need A Friend
5. Silent Ivy Hotel
6. No Time To Crank The Sun
7. It’s A Game
8. Sleepin’ Light
(feat. Ural Thomas)
9. Sad Case
10. Happiness, Missouri
11. Careless

Watch a lyric video for 'Return To The Moon (Political Song For Didi Bloome To Sing, With Crescendo)' below...

Load next


Open in new window
Open in new window