Maya Hawke - Masthead Banner

A Daisy Jones & The Six x 'Aurora' appreciation post.

A Daisy Jones & The Six x 'Aurora' appreciation post.

'Aurora' the full-length album by (fictional band) Daisy Jones & The Six for the Prime Video adaptation of 'Daisy Jones & The Six' has just been released - with songs directly from the show performed by the cast. The tracks from the book have been adapted for the TV show by Blake Mills, Marcus Mumford, Jackson Browne, Tony Berg, and many more. 

So today on the day of release, we are celebrating...

#1. The two singles 'Regret Me' and 'Look At Us Now (Honeycomb)'.

#2. There are also vinyls available here - make sure to get in quick before they sell out!

#3. If you haven't already, we recommend picking up the hit book by New York Times best selling author Taylor Jenkins Reid. Reid has said about the show's cast: "Daisy Jones and The Six are real. And they are better than my wildest dreams." 

And TJR has written a note to fans about the soundtrack:

"Dear Listener,
In 2016, I had an idea for a story about the inner dramas of an explosive, electrifying 70s rock band. I named that band Daisy Jones and The Six.
In 2021, I went to a Daisy Jones and The Six concert.
I’m not sure I will ever forget the six of them walking out onto the stage together, the fluid way they all worked in tandem to perform these songs, the unspoken connections between them as they filled the room.
When they bowed at the end, I clapped so hard my hands hurt, cheered so loudly my throat went dry. But I was too blown away to be cool. Because Riley Keough, Sam Claflin, Suki Waterhouse, Will Harrison, Josh Whitehouse, and Sebastian Chacon may be actors. But they are rock stars. They are Daisy Jones and The Six.
For years, I’ve had readers of the book ask me what Daisy Jones and The Six sound like. Well, this is the answer. We finally have Aurora. A stunning, nostalgic, timeless album that captures the drama, pathos, and yearning of the band’s zenith and nadir all in one. A snapshot of time, intoxicating and dangerous. That delicious moment that you know can’t last.
It may have been me who came up with the name for this album all those years ago, but its existence is owed to the hard work of the band, Scott Neustadter, Blake Mills, Tony Berg, and everyone who showed up to contribute. And that hard work shows here.
Daisy Jones and The Six are real. And they are better than my wildest dreams.

#4. We're crossing our fingers we'll get a 'Daisy Jones & The Six' cast tour where they can perform tracks from the album - both Sam Claflin and Riley Keough from the cast have said they'd be down to do it!

#5. The cast learnt the instruments themselves for their roles, with Sam Claflin and Riley Keough taking the lead on vocals. 

In an interview we did last year with Suki Waterhouse (who stars as Karen Sirko in the show), she explained behind the scenes of working on the songs: “At the beginning, I wasn't particularly good at piano, but then we did a a six-month band camp and got to work with Blake Mills, who's been making all the music, so it's been the most incredible project to be involved with especially as I was making and releasing my music.”

Daisy Jones & The Six's 'Aurora' is out now - listen below:

Load next


Open in new window
Open in new window